Snow Day Number One

After a very indulgent snowed in weekend with lots of wine and snacking, followed by a fun and crazy Super Bowl party (WHO DAT?), I wasn’t too surprised to wake up without much of an appetite this morning.  Coffee and water held me over until almost 10, a good two hours after I woke up.  I usually wake up hungry!  Once my appetite came back, I had some delicious and healthy oatmeal!

1/2 cup 1% milk, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tbsp ground flax, 1 chopped apple.  Needed banana, but good!

Today was the actual start date of my half marathon training plan (I’m following Hal Higdon’s intermediate plan).  Mondays are “stretch and strengthen days”.  Normally I plan on taking yoga and lifting, but all of the classes at my gym were cancelled (and Pete took my car to work).  So I did the YogaWorks Body Slim workout on Exercise.tv.

… which left me a shweaty mess!  Which wasn’t really what I wanted.  The instructor wasn’t great.  She kept making comments like, “firm your muscles to your bones,” without explaining what the hell that meant.  She was also way too peppy for yoga.  I wanted to stretch and relax.  It was a pretty good workout, but I’ll stick to my regular class from now on.

After my workout I dug into lunch, courtesy of Bella Eats (recipe here: http://bellaeats.com/2010/02/03/a-backdrop-of-falling-snow/).  We made a ton of this Spicy Sausage, Potato, and Kale Soup over the weekend and have plenty of leftovers.  Good thing it’s delicious 😉

After I ate Pete came home so we went to his gym.  I did “20/10″s, or 20 seconds of movement and ten seconds of rest.  For 20 seconds, repeat the motion as quickly as possible while retaining good form.  Rest for ten seconds, and repeat for eight sets.  My workout was:

  • 20/10s Leg Press, 80 lbs
  • 10 Burpees into Shoulder Presses, 10 lbs
  • 20/10s Chest Press, 20 lbs
  • 10 Burpees into Shoulder Presses, 10 lbs
  • 20/10s Let Pulldowns, 45 lbs

On the way home from the gym I dug into my mid-afternoon snack of almonds and a banana.

But I was still feeling snacky later, so I had an Almond Butter Chocolate Chip cookie (recipe courtesy of Clean Eating Magazine).

Which did the trick!

For dinner I decided to make us “Guiltless Chicken Parmesan with Pasta” from this month’s Clean Eating Mag.

Our plates!  So good.  Just as tasty as Olive Garden’s!

Calorie intake: 1,612 cal.  Burned: 285 cal.

I just got word that we have another snow day tomorrow! I guess I’ll take it… although I’m not sure I’m up for the next round we’re supposed to get tomorrow night. Hopefully I’ll find a way to run tomorrow!

One response to “Snow Day Number One

  1. almond butter chocolate chip cookie. i want.

    snow day. i want more. …or maybe just the cookie.

    on second thought, snow day please.

Leave a Reply

