Chunky Monkey Oats

I woke up starving this morning!  I guess that’s what happens when you waste calories on alcohol :-/.  (Worth it…) So I dove into a fun new oats concoction!

CHUNKY MONKEY OATS!!! Can we say “oatgasms”?!  Ugh… delicious 😉

This batch of oats contained:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseeds
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • splash skim milk
  • 1 tbsp chunky peanut butter

Avec du cafe.  This bowl felt so decadent, but it was so healthy and full of antioxidents from the cocoa powder!  I love really rich, dark chocolate, so this bowl was perfect for me.  If you like your chocolate a little sweeter, you may want to add some stevia or agave nectar.  You could also use a 1/2 scoop of chocolate protein powder for added staying power!

We are currently in the middle of a blizzard warning in DC.  When I looked outside this morning and saw this…

(Note: conditions have deteriorated since I took this photo), I knew that my run was definitely not HAPPENING!  40 mph winds and .1 mile visibility isn’t my idea of good running weather.  Thank goodness for exercise.tv.  Let’s just hope my power lasts this time!

Leave a Reply

