The Truth About Chicken

For din din I made us some grilled boneless skinless chicken thighs with garlic caper herb sauce and steamed new potatoes.

Plus more cheap and delicious vino.

I realized tonight that I don’t like chicken that much.  Ok, hear me out: I love chicken when it’s prepared really unhealthfully.  Fried chicken or wings doused in butter and hot sauce is delicious.  But really, when prepared without the fatty add ins, it’s pretty bland.  I prefer thighs to breast because it actually has some flavor and not that many more calories.  If I’m going to have a flavorless protein, I might as well go with tofu.  I also have a weird fear of eating undercooked chicken.  I was actually a vegetarian for three years before I remembered how delicious meat is.  It made me think about how other carnivorous animals can eat meat raw without problems but humans need to cook their meat so should we actually be eating it?  Although, it was a lot easier to lose weight when I added meat back into my diet.  Then again, it was also easier when I stopped eating french fries…

Stop thinking.  I love steak, fish, and SAUSAGE.  Chicken just doesn’t top the list.

Moving on… the sauce was really tasty.  It was a combo of 1 1/2 cups parsely, 3 green onions, 1/4 cup drained capers, 1/4 cup plain lowfat greek yogurt, 3 tbsp grated Parmesan, 1 clove garlic, and a dash of black pepper, mixed in the food processor.  I saved half for the fish I’m making tomorrow night.  I tossed the potatoes with olives oil, parsley, s&p, and a dash paprika.

After dinner I had a cup of decaf coffee with a shot of Baileys 😉

Because I'm naughty 😉

Calories In: 1,808 cal; Calories out: 214 cal.

No work tomorrow… again.  If this continues I may actually want to go back!

One response to “The Truth About Chicken

  1. The garlic caper sauce looks wonderful. I have capers in my refrigerator and a husband who is always ready to “grill” so I may try it this weekend. — Sherry aka http://www.rosemaryandthegoat.com

Leave a Reply

