Commuter Hell!

My relaxing morning was cut short when my commute began.  Luckily, I had the news on during breakfast so I discovered before I left that my metro stop was closed due to snow.  Pete was kind enough to drive me to the closest open station, which is normally only a ten minute drive away, and we figured that since we could take the HOV lanes it wouldn’t take us much longer.  False.  An hour later, I was finally at the metro.  The station was so crowded.  The trains were single-tracked, so it took forever to get to work.  My normal commute is a about 50 minutes.  It took 2 hours and 15 minutes this morning.  Unbelievable.  I was actually going to get there early, but I wound up showing up an hour and fifteen minutes late.  Fortunately, the office was pretty empty today.  My boss didn’t show up until noon.  So, it wasn’t a big deal.

For lunch I had some leftover Ginger Glazed Mahi Mahi on top of a salad of romaine, mushrooms, green bell peppers, and onions.

I was actually nervous about eating this fish since it had been sitting in my backpack unrefrigerated for close to three hours.  It tasted and smelled fine though.

For my afternoon snack I had one ounce of almonds (soaked overnight and then dried this morning to promote digestibility and make the protein more accessible) and a kiwi, eaten skin and all.

This kiwi was so juicy today.  Super-ripe fruit is always the best in my opinion (and definitely more nutritious!).

I broke into my snack a little early, so it was hard to resist the bubblegum Dum Dum my coworker gave me for Valentine’s Day.

Adorbs.

I’m taking a rest day from working out.  When Pete gets home we’re shoveling his car out, though, so I’ll be sure to get some active rest in!

One response to “Commuter Hell!

  1. That mahimahi looks good! Recipe?

Leave a Reply

