I Love Mushrooms, Yes I Do, But I Really Hate Cleaning You!

After breakfast I dragged myself off the couch to the Farmer’s Market!  The Falls Church Farmer’s Market is huge and so much fun.  It’s one of the few Farmer’s Markets that continues year round.  And luckily, it’s only a mile away from our apartment!  In better weather, I’d walk there, but that would mean death today.  So, I drove (for the first time since the snowfall!).  In a perfect world, I’d get the majority of my groceries there.  I like knowing where my food came from and that my money is going straight to the source.  It’s kind of expensive, though, so I usually just browse and buy whatever catches my eye.  Here’s today’s loot:

Aren’t those multi-colored eggs cute?  I love them!  I also got a butternut squash, brussel sprouts, golden delicious apples, baby bella mushrooms, and spinach.

I went to the gym after my trip, and after searching for a parking spot for twenty minutes (I’m not kidding) I finally got to workout!  I did…

  • 30 minutes treadmill, 3.02 miles, incline .5-1%
  • “20/10″s Free Form Chest, 8 x 20 lbs
  • Burpies into a Shoulder Press, 10 x 10 lbs
  • “20/10″s Leg Press, 8 x 80 lbs
  • Burpies into a Shoulder Press, 10 x 10 lbs
  • “20/10″s Free Form Lat Pulldown, 8 x 35 lbs
  • GOOD stretch to round it out

By the time I got home I was STARVING.  It had been almost five hours since breakfast, which is t0o long for me, especially when I’ve been active.  I dug into these babies…

I had more Spicy Sausage, Potato, and Kale Soup, plus the leftovers of last night’s salad.  I cut up two baby bellas to add some veggie love, and topped it with some fresh lemon juice to bring it back to life.  Mushrooms are my favorite vegetable (fungus?  whatever.  I love them), but I hate cleaning them.  You shouldn’t rinse mushrooms, but clean them off with a damp towel or paper towel.  It’s kind of gross rubbing dirt off of them.  Worth it, though.  I love mushrooms.

P.S. my favorite fruit are bananas, my favorite starch are sweet potatoes (currently… it somewhat changes seasonally), my favorite healthy fat are avocados, and my favorite grain are OATS (obvi…).  I don’t really have a favorite meat but I think it might be tied between lamb and steak.  My favorite cheese is gouda… but I really, really love cheese in general.  Ok, that’s enough.

We’re going to Maryland tonight for a friend’s wedding reception (she got married in Brazil but is having a reception here) and then to my aunt’s birthday party.  I’ll try to post tonight’s eats when I get home but no promises.  I’ll leave you with these pictures of the Suzanne-size icicles outside our apartment.

I tried breaking it because I know they’re dangerous.  I broke the ends… but then my hands got really cold and I’m just going to make Pete do it… DC = Narnia.

Leave a Reply

