Awkward Workout Situation…

Last night when I got home from church I settled in to watch Modern Family… and then zoned out for a while.  Pete had gone out with some friends and came home around 10 (my normal bedtime) and we chatted for a while, and before I knew it, it was 10:45!  I hadn’t packed my gym bag or my lunch!  I quickly threw some things in a bag and figured I’d have time to pack a lunch in the morning…

Except I forgot how long it takes me to get ready when I’m tired.  All of a sudden I needed to leave and I had just finished making my oatmeal and hadn’t even started on my lunch (I’ll get to that in a second).  So I threw my oatmeal in my Klean Kanteen thermos (like so…)

I tried a simple new oats recipe this morning, again from my new Ellie Krieger cookbook, for Spiced Vanilla Oatmeal.  See her recipe here: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ellie-krieger/vanilla-spice-oatmeal-recipe/index.html.  In her book, she uses pecans instead of walnuts, which I think was a nice change.  The oatmeal was pretty good, but I had to wait a while to eat it since I didn’t get a seat on the train this morning, so although it was still warm, it kind of had a weird consistency.  It was really gelatenous and not creamy like I like it.  I might have overcooked it a bit, too.

Around 10 I dug into a Chocolate Brownie Clif Bar to fuel up for spin class.

Note to Readers: If you are easily offended (or are a man), you might want to skip this next part of the post.

So I got to the gym to change for spin today when I realized that in my rush, I forgot to pack a sports bra.  Now, instead of being logical and realizing that I wasn’t prepared for a workout, I rationalized.  I’m not exactly the most buxom woman in the world, and plus during spin my upper body doesn’t move that much.  I decided it would be ok to wear my regular bra, and during the workout it was.  I had a great spin class and the music was really fun, with some African drum beats, country music, and Madonna thrown in.  I didn’t bounce around or anything so I wasn’t in pain.  I felt great afterwards.  That is… until I went to shower before I went back to work.  I hadn’t thought about having to put back on a bra drenched in sweat underneath my work clothes and then go back to the office for four hours (and I was wearing a thin white sweater today so going comando was NOT an option).  Yep.  It wasn’t fun.  I spent the rest of the day worrying about smelling badly.  At least I got in a workout, though… right?

MOVING ON…

So since I rushed myself to pack a lunch this morning, it wasn’t ideal.  I packed a poor man’s version of yesterday’s Waldorf Chicken Wrap since I had some leftover grilled chicken breast.  I was out of mayo and lemon juice, though, so it didn’t really taste right.  Pretty bland.

Also, remember I mentioned how I have an abnormal fear of eating undercooked chicken (not all meat, just chicken)?  Well I took a bite of this wrap early on and saw that the inside of one piece of chicken was a little pink… and then freaked out and took all the chicken out of my wrap and threw it away.  So I was left with a wrap of chopped apple, fage, lettuce, walnuts, and thyme… and it really wasn’t very tasty.  I finished it anyways because I was hungry.

I felt pretty unsatisfied, so I dug into the only snack I packed, this banana, around 2.

When I got home I was STARVING.  I definitely didn’t pack enough food to eat today.  I had a small snack of 1/4 an apple and the last bit of fontina cheese.

But that didn’t really cut it.  So, I had some dessert!

Fro-yo and brownie pudding.  I measured out a very small portion of the brownie pudding.  It’s actually not bad to have in the house since you have to heat it up to eat it, and that little bit of effort typically keeps me from randomly snacking… except that it has this amazing crunchy top that you can peel off and eat cold.  I won’t lie, I’ve been making a couple trips to and from the fridge since I got home.  Oops.

Leave a Reply

