Oatgasm

I went to the gym today to do strength and a 3 m pace run.  It’s a lovely day outside (shows what I’ve been dealing with when 45 degrees is “lovely”) and very sunny, and I would have loved to run outside, but I’m not sure there’s enough sidewalk cleared yet to be able to run fast.  I’m determined to do my long run outside tomorrow!  Even if it means running the same one mile stretch over and over again!

My trainer told me to start doing my strength workouts before my cardio, since that’s proven to help your body burn more fat during cardio.  So, that’s what I did.  My workout consisted of:

  • Warm-up: 5 min treadmill 1% @ 3.5 mph
  • Free Motion Chest Press 8 x “20/10″s x 20 lbs
  • Burpies into Shoulder Press 10 x 10 lbs
  • Leg Press 8 x “20/10″s x 85 lbs
  • Burpies into Shoulder Press 10 x 10 lbs
  • Free Motion Lat Pulldown 8 x “20/10″s x 35 lbs

I then moved on to my 3 m pace run.  A pace run is a run at the pace you hope to maintain during the race.  I hope to maintain a minimum speed of 9:10 min/mile to break two hours during my next half in May, so I set the speed on the treadmill at 6.6 mph (9:05 min/mile).  I finished 3 miles in 27:24 and it was tough!  I was dripping in sweat afterwards!  It’s funny, though, since I’ve run 5Ks faster than that.  Running on the treadmill just seems so much harder than running in a race!  Having people around you is such great motivation.

I finished up with a good stretch and flashed everyone in the gym with my booty shorts that felt great!

When I got home I had a craving that I couldn’t suppress.  I needed banana oats like nobody’s business.  So what if it’s 2:00 PM?  It’s always oatmeal time in my book!

This bowl contained my favorite combo:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • Pinch sea salt
  • Mashed banana
  • Dash cinnamon
  • 1 TBSP ground flax seeds
  • Splash 1% milk
  • 1 TBSP almond butter

Plus a crispy asian pear from this morning’s farmer’s market trip on the side!  I love you, oatmeal.  You’re so good to me.  Let’s never spend time apart again.  Nobody treats me like you do.

…except for my boyfriend.  Right.  Love you, babe.

Ok, enough talk, more action.  Time to get less smelly.

One response to “Oatgasm

  1. b-naner oats should come at any time anywhere of any day. love it.

    oooh i’m excited to lift weights PRE spin tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

