A Belly Full of Kale

This morning at 5:30 AM I made the barely conscious decision that an extra twenty minutes of sleep was worth not being able to shave my legs or make banana oats.  I whipped up a pretty easy treat instead.

That is a cheddar and apple quesadilla and it was very tasty!  This recipe  was stolen from Ellie Krieger.  Take one fourth of a Granny Smith apple and slice it thinly.  Lay your slices out on the bottom half of a whole wheat tortilla.  On top of the apple slices lay out 1/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese.  Fold your tortilla and half and place in a skillet heated over medium- high heat.  Place a heavy skillet on top of your quesadilla.  Turn over after a minute and a half and cook the other side.  This took me less than ten minutes and was a good start to the day!

For my morning snack I had the other half of last night’s Asian pear and one ounce of almonds.

I met with my trainer over my lunch break.  My shins and knees are a bit achy from yesterday’s run, so I told him I wanted to focus on upper body today.  We did about ten minutes of core work on the stability ball, and then we boxed!  I’m not a particularly good boxer.  It’s one of my trainer’s specialties, though, and it still works me like hell.  It can be a pretty good stress reliever, though!  We ended the workout with 25 push-ups (pretty hard after punching something for the past 15 minutes), one minute of tricep dips, and then balancing on one leg with holding a lateral raise with five pound weights for 30 seconds per leg.  Tough.  When I got back to the office I dove into this baby.

This baby contained what we didn’t eat of last night’s salad (mixed greens, onion, carrots, mushrooms), plus some extra greens, .5 oz parmesan cheese, 2 tbsp slivered almonds, 1/2 cup black beans, and some basil vinaigrette.

A few hours later I ate half a red bell pepper with some spinach and artichoke hummus, which I unfortunately forgot to take a picture of (bad blogger…).  It definitely didn’t fill me up enough, though, because I was starving when I got home.  I definitely hadn’t eaten enough calories during the day and I was feeling light-headed.  I really wanted a Girl Scout cookie, but I refrained.  Instead I made this green baby!

This green monster smoothie contained:

  • 1 cup 1% milk
  • 2 cups kale
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • a few ice cubes

Delicious.  I wish my blender didn’t suck, though.  This one was a little chunky.

Ok, back to my girl Paula Deen.  See you all for dinner!

One response to “A Belly Full of Kale

  1. What is Kale?

Leave a Reply

