Good Morning, Sunshine!

I had a little extra time this morning, so I ate what my heart truly desired.

Damn right.  You had me at banana oatmeal.

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • Dash sea salt
  • Mashed banana
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • Lots of cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp 0% plain greek yogurt (I was out of milk but this worked like a charm!)
  • 1 tbsp almond butter

It was a nice morning :).

Mid-morning I had an orange.

Then I headed to the gym for my lunchtime workout!  I started with strength:

  • 5 min warm-up elliptical levels 3/4
  • Free motion chest press 8 x “20/10″s x 20 lbs (This exercise has noticeably been getting a lot easier!  I was able to maintain good form and do my reps quicker than usual!)
  • Burpies into shoulder press 10 x 10 lbs
  • Leg press 8 x “20/10″s x 85 lbs (On the other hand, this was noticeably harder today.  Maybe because it’s a different machine than I’ve been using?)
  • Burpies into shoulder press 10 x 10 lbs
  • Free motion lat pull-down 8 x “20/10″s x 30 lbs

Then I did my speed work on the treadmill.  My training plan called for “6 x 400 m at 5K pace”.  Ideally, I would have done this on a track, but I have no idea where a track near my office is or if I could even use it during the day.  I sometimes run around the National Mall, but I doubt the snow has been cleared enough yet.  I’ll check it out next week.  The treadmill had to suffice.  400 meters is .25 mile.  I alternated walking for 2 min at 4.0 mph and running .25 mile at 7.1 mph.  It was tough!  I finished in roughly 25 minutes and probably did a little over 2 miles.  I don’t have exact stats because I accidentally pulled off the emergency brake halfway through.  I finished my workout with a great stretch!

When I got back to the office I was STARVING!  So much so that I didn’t remember to take a picture of my lunch until I was almost done!

This salad contained romaine lettuce, black beans, parmesan cheese, slivered almonds, red bell pepper, onion, a slice white button mushroom, and a couple chopped baby carrots, all doused in basil vinaigrette.  Yumm-o!

Work got a little crazy this afternoon.  Around 3 I needed a little something to stay focused, so I got some of my coworkers to walk to Starbucks with me.

Grande Chai Tea Latte with skim milk.  SO good.  I only let myself get lattes once a week since the flavored ones have a lot of sugar in them and they’re pretty expensive.  This baby was so delicious and surprisingly filling!  It only had 200 calories but it kept me full enough that I didn’t need to eat the snack I packed!

Ok, I need to figure something out for dinner.  Pete’s going out with friends so I’m all on my own.  I think breakfast for dinner may be in order…

Leave a Reply

