A Relaxing Morning Off

Good morning (or afternoon, I guess, since it is almost 11:30… it IS my day off)!  Last night while watching Real Housewives (everyone who thinks Tamara should leave Simon already raise your hand…) I got hungry but knew that I had splurged a little too much already during the day to dig into the Girl Scout Cookie box.  So, I made a healthy-fied sundae!

This bowl contained half a cup of plain 0% Greek yogurt, about 1/3 tbsp organic dark chocolate syrup, half a sliced banana, a few frozen raspberries, and about a tbsp chopped pecans.  This felt really indulgent but it contained so many healthy ingredients and nutrients, plus a good 10 grams of protein from the yogurt!  Delicious!

This morning I “slept in” until 8:30 (funny how the definition of sleeping in changes as you get older), and had a light breakfast of a slice of Ezekial toast, a shmear of almond butter, half a sliced banana, and some cinnamon!  Plus some unpictured black coffee with a little sugar in the raw since I’m out of Truvia.

Then I did a 45 minute YogaWorks for Beginners session from exercise.tv.  I wasn’t sure what workout to do today.  I’m running a 5K on Sunday.  My training plan from Hal Higdon said to either rest or do an easy run.  I knew my trainer would want me to do some strength training and cardio.  I just wanted a good stretch.  So, I decided yoga would be a good alternative so I could stretch out my tight muscles but also get some toning action in.  I definitely got a good stretch in with this session, especially in my super tight hip flexors!  I still would have preferred to go to a regular Hatha class, but none were being offered at my gym at the right time today.  I normally love exercise.tv, but their yoga selection is pretty slim.  They have some good power yoga selections, but when I just want to stretch and get centered with just a couple strengthening movements, my only options are beginner sessions.  I’m not a beginner to yoga, and I get frustrated that they take so long to explain the movements.  I’d like to move quicker.  If anyone has a good Hatha DVD to recommend for me when I’m in a bind like this I’m all ears!

Since I didn’t burn a bunch of calories during yoga, I just had a small bowl of oatmeal for my post-workout meal.

This bowl contained:

  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup oats
  • Dash sea salt
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • Small splash vanilla extract
  • Dash cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • Small scoop of Greek yogurt for creaminess
  • Small scoop of almond butter
  • Chopped date

Delicious!  Alright, I need to shower and get ready for the day!  On the agenda for today: write newsletter article for the charity I’m on the board of directors for, meet my trainer at 2 to talk about some potential business plans, haircut at 5, then we’re going to Idylwood Grill for dinner with friends tonight!

One response to “A Relaxing Morning Off

  1. YUMMMMMM.

    +I love the YogaWorks stuff from ExxerciseTV! … anything they make/produce is awesome and you can actually get a practical workout in!!

Leave a Reply

