Banana Nut Bread Oats

This morning I got a little creative with my oatmeal!  I give you… Banana Nut Bread Oatmeal!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup water
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • 1 large banana, mashed
  • 2 tbsp raisins (added towards the end of cooking so they plump up)
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • Dash cinnamon
  • 1 tsp brown sugar (as topping)
  • 2 tbsp chopped pecans, toasted in a dry skillet over medium heat until you can smell them, 2-3 minutes (don’t overcook!  Nuts burn fast!)

This was delicious and so filling!  It’s been hours and I’m still not hungry!  Walnuts would have made for a more traditional banana nut bread taste, I just prefer pecans to walnuts.

I had a very successful Farmer’s Market trip this morning, minus the fact that my favorite mushroom sellers weren’t there!  I think mushroom season may be ending :(.

My booty:

  • Multi-colored eggs
  • Kale
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Assorted apples and pears
  • Salad greens
  • Itty-bitty butternut squash

Ok, time to head to TJ’s.  Enjoy this warm (comparatively) day!

One response to “Banana Nut Bread Oats

  1. i need to start eating oatmeal more. i’m not really a morning person, partially because i don’t have my coffee until i get to work now (thanks one-cup coffee maker!)…so the only oatmeal i have time for now is the pre-packaged quaker kind. aka a bag of sugar. 😉

Leave a Reply

