Walnut and Dried Cherry Bars

Before I left for the grocery store I was still kind of full from breakfast, so I had a very small lunch of some Greek yogurt with sliced banana and a chopped date.

After I got home I had a juicy fuji apple from the Farmer’s Market.

Then I got to work on a yummy breakfast recipe for this week, walnut and dried cherry bars: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ellie-krieger/walnut-and-dried-cherry-bars-recipe/index.html.

I replaced the wheat germ in these with ground flax.  I’m fully aware that they aren’t nearly the same thing, but I couldn’t find wheat germ at Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, or Giants.  Also, ground flax is nearly a perfect food, so why not add it?!  I also didn’t have quite half a cup of walnuts so I added some slivered almonds to make up for the rest.  These aren’t quite the consistency I was hoping for, but I bet they’ll be good.  I haven’t tried one yet but I’ll let you know!

For an afternoon snack, I had a small bowl of Pumpkin Flax Plus Granola and 1% milk.

This was ok.  I think it would have been better in yogurt.

Ok, my casserole is almost done!  Recipe to come tonight!  We’re going to eat and then go ice skating!

Leave a comment