Healthy and Satisfying Stir-Fry Recipe

After I posted this afternoon, hunger struck! I really need to pack more food to bring to work, especially when I have such intense workouts in the middle of the day.  My appetite gets really thrown off and by the time I get home I’m a bottomless pit!  I snacked on some Pumpkin Flax Granola and Greek yogurt.

Looks icky.  Tastes yummy.

Then I got started on dinner.  I pulled another recipe from Ellie Krieger’s So Easy cookbook.

Tri-Color Pepper Steak

Ingredients:
4 teaspoons canola oil
1 ¼ pounds top round, London broil, or flank steak, thinly sliced
5 large assorted bell peppers (a mix of red, yellow, and green; 2 pounds total)
1 large onion, sliced into half-moons (about 3 cups)
4 garlic cloves, sliced
1 1/2 cups low-sodium beef broth
3/4 cup dry red wine
3 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
1/2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper
11/2 teaspoons cornstarch, dissolved in 1/4 cup cold water
3 cups cooked rice

1. Heat 2 tsp. oil in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add beef and cook until browned on all sides, about 5 minutes. Transfer meat with its juices to a plate.

2. Heat remaining 2 tsp. oil in same skillet over medium-high heat. Add peppers and onion and cook, stirring occasionally, 5 minutes. Add garlic and continue cooking until peppers are softened and onions are translucent, about 5 minutes more.

3. Return beef and juices to skillet and add broth, wine, soy sauce, and pepper. Bring to boil. Reduce heat and simmer until liquid has been reduced by half, about 5 minutes. Stir in dissolved cornstarch and cook until mixture thickens, about 2 minutes. Serve over rice.

Makes 4 servings.

This was so delicious and hearty.  I actually only ate about half of my serving.  I’m saving the other half for lunch tomorrow.

We turned on “Spanglish” after dinner, which was disappointing and boring.  I had a small bowl of granola and milk during the movie.

I’m beat and need to get to sleep!  Hopefully I don’t wake up sprouting pumpkins from all this granola tomorrow (har har har)!

One response to “Healthy and Satisfying Stir-Fry Recipe

  1. spanglish = movie FAIL. also, that dinner recipe looks so good. elie is so badass.

Leave a Reply

