Sesame Shrimp Fried Rice With Cabbage

Right after I posted this afternoon I whipped up a yummy green smoothie.

This mix contained the leaves from one small bunch kale, one cup 1% milk, one frozen banana, one tbsp ground flax, and a handful of ice.  However, right after I started sipping on it, I heard from Pete saying he was going to have to work late and wouldn’t be able to go swimming tonight.  He had the pass, so I wouldn’t be able to go.  My only other option was to drive to the gym and duke it out on the elliptical since it was raining and too dark to run.  I decided that I would take my rest day today instead of Friday, so I could get a good workout in instead of a mediocre one.  We’re going to go swimming Thursday, and I’ll go to spin on Friday!  Normally I wouldn’t have had that smoothie before dinner, but a little kale never hurt anyone right? 😉

Tonight’s dinner recipe was an happy accident.  I had thought I had all the ingredients for Ellie Krieger’s Sesame Shrimp Fried Rice with Cabbage, but I realized when I started cooking that I didn’t have enough brown rice left after last night.  So, I messed with the proportions a little to create a low-carb, high-protein version, which is perfect for a rest day.

Sesame Shrimp Fried Rice With Cabbage

Adapted from Ellie Krieger’s So Easy

Ingredients

  • 2 teaspoons canola oil
  • 3 scallions, white and green parts, thinly sliced
  • 3/4 tablespoon peeled, grated fresh ginger
  • 3/4 pound peeled, cleaned small shrimp
  • 4 cups thinly sliced green cabbage, cut crosswise into 3-inch pieces
  • 2 teaspoons toasted sesame oil
  • 1 cup very cold cooked brown rice
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons sesame seeds, toasted in a dry skillet over medium-high heat until golden/about one minute

1.  Heat the oil in a very large nonstick skillet or wok over a high heat. Add the scallions, ginger and shrimp and cook stirring frequently until the shrimp turn pink, about 1 1/2 minutes. Add the cabbage and continue cooking until it begins to soften, but is still somewhat crisp, about 2 minutes more. Transfer the shrimp-cabbage mixture to a bowl.

2.  Heat the sesame oil in the same skillet or wok over a medium-high heat. Add the rice and cook stirring frequently, until heated through, about 3 minutes. Add the shrimp-cabbage mixture back to the skillet, stir in the soy sauce and sesame seeds and serve.

Makes 2 servings.

Calories 337; Total Fat 15 g; (Sat Fat 2 g, Mono Fat 6 g, Poly Fat 5 g) ; Protein 16 g; Carb 38 g; Fiber 8 g; Cholesterol 65 mg; Sodium 580 mg

This was SO SIMPLE and delicious!  My boyfriend even said it was identical to Chinese take out!  This dish is definitely entering into the dinner rotation!

Calories In: 1,574 cal.

Back to Biggest Loser and then to bed!  GO BLACK TEAM!  I love an underdog!

One response to “Sesame Shrimp Fried Rice With Cabbage

  1. Your recipe sounds yummy! Thanks for sharing! Enjoy the Biggest Loser, I’m happy the Olympics are over so my TV shows are back!

Leave a Reply

