Best Healthy Dessert EVER

Before I swam I originally intended to have a green smoothie, but a certain someone drank almost all the milk!  I had the remaining ounce-ish of milk with some granola and a date.  They went un-pictured because I was in a rush.

Our swim workout went well, although we both need to buy new goggles.  My workout consisted of:

  • 4 x 50 m
  • 4 x 100 m
  • 1 x 200 m
  • 1 x 300 m
  • 1 x 100 m
  • Total: 1,100 m

That’s right!  I swam 300 m straight!  That’s the farthest yet!  Swimming is getting a lot easier.  I’m getting a much better hang on the rhythm with my movements and breathe.  I’ve started to really enjoy it, actually.  Swimming is very calming.

We’re running low on food, so I wasn’t quite sure what to cook tonight.  I was craving pasta, so I through together a shrimp penne when we got home.

For the sauce, I sauteed some onion and garlic in olive oil, and then added the tail end of two random marinara jars we had lying around.  (I actually usually make my own pasta sauce, but when I was sick last month I really wanted warm, hearty pasta without the work, so I kept sending Pete to the store for pasta stuff, so that’s why I have all this sauce!).  After the sauce warmed I added some red pepper flakes and leftover shrimpees.  I served the sauce over cooked whole wheat penne and topped it with some parmesan.  Pretty good!

I really wanted dessert after this… and I was out of Greek yogurt, my usual healthy go-to… and I didn’t really want to dig into the Girl Scout cookies… BUT THEN I remembered I had a frozen banana in the freezer I had saved for my green smoothie!

You may not believe it, but it’s true.  That delicious looking dessert is a frozen banana pureed in the food processor with only cinnamon added!  Topped with pecans and organic dark chocolate syrup, this dessert is exactly like soft serve.  Seriously, try it.  You’ll be amazed.  Give the banana a rough chop and pulse the processor whenever it gets stuck.

I’m letting this count as one of my treats for the week, since the syrup does have added sugar in it.  After March, though, this is the kind of treat I wouldn’t mind having every night!

3 responses to “Best Healthy Dessert EVER

  1. Hi! Just found your blog and have been checking it out. I just moved from the DC area to Cali and your pictures of Whitlow’s brunch are making me so jealous! haha.

  2. Hi, I’m a new reader of your blog! Congratulations on the swimming, that’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

