When Life Hands You an Empty Almond Butter Jar…

PUT YOUR OATMEAL IN IT!!!

Yes, I finally got my oatmeal fix this morning.  It was exactly what I needed on this early Friday morning!  My mix contained:

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • dash salt
  • mashed banana
  • 2 tbsp ground flax
  • dash cinnamon
  • topped with some pumpkin granola

SO delicious.  I love putting my oats in a jar and scraping the almond butter off the sides with my spoon.  I saved the jar again… since I might be trying out an #outofthebox challenge this weekend!

My morning snack at work was a Walnut and Dried Cherry Bar.

I went to the noon spin class today with a new teacher and it was GLORIOUS!  I was DRENCHED in sweat by the end.  She pushed me so hard and I biked harder and faster than I have in months.  She normally teaches on Tuesdays.  I may be switching up my spin classes from now on!

Lunch, eating really quickly, was the same sandwich I’ve had all week.

Ezekial bread with brie cheese, turkey, mixed greens, and the last of the cranberry apple butter from Trader Joe’s.  Also, a whole bunch of baby carrots.  Before I left work I had a cheese stick, that went unpictured.

Here’s where things got hectic.  I actually got to work early this morning so I could leave early to cook dinner for friends that were coming over before going to see “Alice in Wonderland” (!!!).  When I got home a little before 5 I immediately left for Giant, which was a mess.  Giant is literally across the street from my apartment, but I hate going there.  I’m so spoiled by Trader Joe’s.  It took forever because everyone there was being so unhelpful.

For dinner, I had planned to make us some Alice-themed treats, but things went awry.  They also went largely unpictured, and I apologize.  Our menu:

Beef Tenderloin with Rosemary, Chocolate and Wine Sauce

Roasted Asparagus and Mushrooms

Devils Food Cupcakes with Chocolate Icing

As I said before, the people working at Giant were really unhelpful.  I just really wanted beef tenderloin, and the guy gave me filet mignon instead.  In my haste, I didn’t change the cooking time, so the meat was very tough, but with the wine sauce it was still good.  It’s hard to go wrong with asparagus and mushrooms.  The cupcakes were tasty (even though I realized once they were in the oven that I used olive oil instead of canola oil… oops).  I wanted to write “Eat Me” on them, but the frosting wasn’t thick enough.  Oh, well.  I had a really nice time.

“Alice in Wonderland” was fabulous.  Growing up, I was obsessed with everything Alice, and I still kind of am.  I’ve been looking forward to this movie for over a year now, and it did not disappoint.  Tim Burton, you’ve done it again.  Helena Bonham Carter, you never cease to amaze me.  It really was a masterpiece.  The one thing I regret is that we we didn’t get to the theater early enough so we had to sit a little too close.  We saw it at the IMAX Experience theater at Tyson’s (DCites, go there!), it seemed really overwhelmning not being able to take in the whole picture like we could have in the back.  But, like Pete told me, being overwhelmed is just part of the Wonderland experience.  There’s a good chance I’ll go again, but I wasn’t disappointed.

For accountability purposes, I’ve had two bowls of granola and milk and a date during my stressed cooking frenzy and now.  Today’s been beautifully chaotic, however I can’t wait for my quiet Saturday morning to being.  I absolutely need to get some rest now.  Until tomorrow, loves!

Leave a Reply

