New Salad and Almond Butter Dip

I definitely stayed up too late last night watching the Oscars, and I was feeling pretty beat this morning.  I had this new cereal I saw at Trader Joe’s yesterday.

I had it with 4 oz 1% milk and a sliced banana.

It was good, but didn’t keep me very full.  I think I prefer having cereal as a snack instead of breakfast.  I need a lot of fiber and/or protein in the morning to keep me satisfied.

I’m in training all this week off-site, and while it’s less stressful than work for sure, the days are kind of boring.  I ran out during our first break and got a Ginger Bread coffee, unpictured, from 7-eleven with 2 half and halfs and a raw sugar.

For lunch, I made Ellie Krieger’s Wheat Berry Salad plus some baby spinach and topped with half a chicken breast grilled with olive oil, cumin, salt, pepper, and lemon juice.

Expect to see this combo a lot this week since I made a bunch on Sunday.  I also had an orange with lunch.

I had a walnut and dried cherry bar around 2 and then after class went to the gym to get a strength workout in:

  • 5 min elliptical warm-up
  • Free motion chest press 8 x “20/10″s x 20 lbs
  • Burpies into shoulder press 10 x 10 lbs
  • Free motion lat pulldowns 8 x “20/10″s x 40 lbs
  • Burpies into shoulder press 10 x 10 lbs
  • Leg press 8 x “20/10″s x 85 lbs
  • V-ups on bench x 15
  • Crunches x 15
  • Weighted crunches 12 x 12 lbs
  • Stability ball crunches x 15
  • Reverse crunches x 15
  • Side crunches x 15
  • Across the body crunches x 15
  • Plank x 1 min

I worked out for a little over half an hour and ended with an extra long stretch for my aching muscles (yesterday’s run did a number on my calves!).  I need to start a new strength training routine.  This one is starting to get old.  I’ll talk to my trainer about it next week.

When I got home I made ALMOND BUTTER DIP!

1/4 cup Greek yogurt mixed with ~2 tsp of almond butter.  So good!  Plus a sliced Asian pear for dipping.  And yes… pear season is definitely over 😦

Now to make some din din!  All my love!

Leave a Reply

