Winner Winner TV Dinner

I have been snacking on Trader Joe’s Wasabi Peas all night!  These are so addicting!  I need to learn self control around them!

Our dinner was eaten in front of the TV while watching Biggest Loser.

Dinner was done in thirty minutes, Rachel Ray style.

First I preheated the oven to 450 degrees.  As the oven was preheating I rinsed and halved a pint of brussels sprouts, and then seasoned them with one tablespoon of olive oil, sea salt, pepper, and crushed chili pepper flakes.  Then I popped them into the oven for 30 minutes.

While the sprouts were cooking I made the sauce for our fish (from last month’s issue of Clean Eating Magazine).  In the food processor, I mixed 1 1/2 cups loosely packed parsley, 1/4 cup low-fat plain Greek yogurt, 1 clove garlic, 1/4 cup capers, 3 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese, and black pepper.  This sauce is pretty salty from the capers so don’t be tempted to add any salt.  This recipe made 4 servings so expect to see it later this week (it’s great over chicken, too).

With about 15 minutes left to go I rinsed three baby yukons and quartered them.  Then I put them in a steamer basket in a sauce pot with about an inch of simmering water, covered.

I them seasoned two cod filets with sea salt and black pepper, put them on a baking dish covered in cooking spray, and stuck them in the oven for the last 8 minutes of cooking.

When everything was done I took the fish out of the oven and onto plates and covered each filet with 1/4 of the sauce.  I tossed the sprouts with white wine vinegar (I was a little too heavy-handed… I’ll probably measure out a couple teaspoons next time) and a little bit of honey and plated them.  I took the potatoes off the stove and tossed them with a teaspoon of olive oil and sea salt, pepper, and paprika and onto the plates they went.

DUN-ZO.  In half an hour.  This meal was full of nutrients and super quick.

Tonight was also treat night!  One serving of Girl Scout cookies is two cookies, so I split up my serving between one Thank You Berry Munch cookie…

And one Samoa, eaten straight out of the freezer!  It tasted like a frozen candy bar!  Oddly enough, my trainer recommended eating them this way!  He must be onto something!

Biggest Loser was so good tonight.  I’ll miss you, Mumma Cheryl :(.  Cheryl is my mom’s name, too, so obvi I was rooting for her!

2 responses to “Winner Winner TV Dinner

  1. SO glad you used the brussels sprouts recipe!! aren’t they tasty?! 🙂

  2. also, yeah you don’t need that much WWV. and next time, seriously make them SWIM in olive oil…they’re much tastier that way 😉

Leave a Reply

