A Multi-Sport Athlete is Born

Before I left for the pool, I had a couple unpictured handfuls of cereal.  This ancient grains Flax Plus cereal is really growing on me.  It’s not very sweet, but it has a really rich, nutty flavor.  I like it!

I had a really strong swim workout tonight!  Pete and I went to the pool together, but he was upstairs working out in the gym for most of the workout, so I was on my own for most of the time.  My workout broke down to:

  • 4 x 50 m (with 30 sec rest)
  • 4 x 100 m (with 45 sec rest)
  • 2 x 200 m (with 1 min rest)
  • 1 x 300 m (with 1 min rest)
  • 2 x 100 m (with 1 min rest)

The workout totaled 1,500 meters in about 40 minutes!  That’s the longest I’ve swam yet!  Next time, I think I can do the full mile (and then some).  Starting a new sport is very difficult at first, but seeing your improvements is so motivating.  The first time we went to the pool together, I could barely swim a whole 50 without needing to rest.  Now I’m easily swimming 300!

For dinner, I wanted pasta so I made us Pasta Primavera.

This was ok.  I didn’t have quite enough linguine for two servings so I upped the veggies.  I maybe should have let the sauce cook a little longer.  I was a little heavy on the basil, too.  It was a little overpowering.

I also had two unpictured Samoas while watching the Housewives duke it out!

I’m ready for bedtime.  Last day of training tomorrow.  Let’s hope I get out early (and this impending monsoon doesn’t ruin my happy Spring mood or my RACE on Saturday).

Leave a Reply

