“Maximum Satisfaction With Minimal Effort”

Pete and I got to have lunch together today.  Even on the weekends, we rarely eat lunch together since we’re both out and about.  It was nice to have a break in the day to turn everything off and spend time together.  I made us sweet potato fries plus a huge salad with spinach, bell pepper, radishes, celery, carrots, a few cherry tomatoes, and shrimp, topped with basil vinaigrette.

So colorful and beautiful!

They may look burnt, but that's deceiving! They were delicious!

Before I headed out to buy groceries, I ate some Ancient Grains cereal with milk.

When I got home, I made a batch of Fig Bran Muffins.

Pete and I split one while watching the first half of “Never Back Down” this afternoon.

Ok, I basically ate the whole thing.  These were ok.  The title of today’s post refers to how Ellie Krieger described these muffins in her cookbook.  I think that statement should ring true with everything you cook, but I wasn’t maximally satisfied today.  They weren’t very substantial.  I meant to add flax seed, but I forgot.  If I made them again I’ll probably add more dried figs and some nuts.

We went to a St. Patrick’s Day party in Maryland tonight, but we stopped by Chipotle on the way!!!

I had a vegetarian salad with lettuce, black beans, peppers and onions, pico de gallo, corn, and guacamole.  No dressing, and topped with hot sauce.  I LOVE Chipotle.  It’s actually really easy to find a delicious, healthy option there.  This was not only healthy but VEGAN and full of vegetables and nutrients, but was also incredibly satisfying.

At the party I had a small corned beef sandwich on rye with horseradish.

Plus a small dessert plate.

Smiling at me 🙂

Half an oatmeal raisin cookie, a small chocolate cookie, and a mini marble cupcake.  I’m fully aware that I broke my March goal of only having dessert three times a week tonight.  I should have anticipated having good dessert options this weekend and only had dessert once during the week.  I’ll get back on track next week.

I am so tired right now.  I was originally planning on doing my run before church tomorrow, but I need to sleep a little later.  Especially with daylight savings time tomorrow, I’d just be running on fumes.  Goodnight, loves!

Leave a Reply

