Fueling Like an Athlete

This morning I tried a new breakfast recipe from “The Athlete’s Palate” cookbook… Breakfast Couscous!

By Runner’s World contributing chef Mark Bittman

Ingredients:

1 cup whole-wheat couscous
Salt
1 cup fresh fruit (I used half a sliced banana to make one serving… the other half of which mysteriously found its way to my tummy)
1/4 cup chopped nuts (I used chopped pecans which I toasted in a dry skillet over medium-high heat until fragrant, about two minutes)
1/4 cup dried fruit like raisins, dates, or coconut (I used dried cherries)
Drizzle of honey or maple syrup

Put the couscous in a medium pot with a tight-fitting lid and add 1½ cups of water and a pinch of salt. Bring the water to a boil, then cover and remove from the heat. Let steep for at least 10 minutes, or up to 20. Add the fruit, nuts, and honey or maple syrup. Fluff with a fork. Serves four.

CALORIES PER SERVING: 280
CARBS: 57 G
PROTEIN: 6 G
FAT: 5 G

This was really tasty!  If I were running right afterwards, though, I would probably sub white couscous for whole wheat for less fiber.  I love finding new breakfast grains!

After church I ate a fig bran muffin.

Then I set out for my eight mile run!  It was lightly raining, but after yesterday’s race experience it didn’t bother me too much.  I actually enjoyed it!  It kept me cool and whenever I passed people I felt like a badass for running in the rain.  Stats:

  • Distance: 8.00 mi
  • Elapsed Time: 1:23:51
  • Avg Pace: 10/29/mi
  • Calories: 813 cal

Not bad.  Every two miles I took a walking break to refuel.  Since I’m out of gels (and gels are expensive), I fueled with a mixture of honey and water, plus some raisins in case that wasn’t enough.

Is it weird that I put a handful of raisins loose in the pocket of my fuel belt?  Maybe.  Is it weirder that I put the ones I didn’t eat back in the carton?  Waste not, want not, friends.

I had a lot more energy towards the end of my run and picked up my pace considerably.  I read recently that that’s typical because your body is more efficient at burning fat as fuel than carbohydrates, which happens later in your workout.  Neat!

After I got home I refueled with two of these cuties, that I made earlier today!

Chocolate, Fig, and Almond Bites

From The Athlete’s Palate cookbook, recipe by chef Patricia Wells

  • 3 1/2 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup hottest possible tap water
  • grated zest of 1 lemon
  • 1/8 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 8 oz. dried figs, stems removed, finely chopped
  • 8 oz. unblanched almonds, toasted and coarsely ground
  • 72 paper petit-four cases, or mini muffin liners

In a small saucepan, combine the chocolate, honey, and tap water.  Heat the mixture over moderate heat just until the chocolate melts.  Stir to combine.  Remove from the heat.  Stir in the zest, salt, cinnamon, figs, and almonds.  Arrnage the paper cases side by side on a baking sheet.  Spoon the mixture into the paper cases, filling about three-quarters full (about 2 teaspoons each).  Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes to firm up before serving, and enjoy!  Makes about 72 pieces.

I made larger servings than the recipe calls for here, somewhat by accident.  These are absolutely delicious!

I also ate some of yesterday’s salad.  The shrimp tasted a little off, though, so I just ate the veggies.

Ok, I need to get ready.  We’re having dinner with Pete’s family tonight.  Be back tonight!

13 responses to “Fueling Like an Athlete

  1. Pingback: Family-Style Chinese Dinner « Adventures in Clean Eating

  2. you are the only person i know that can run a four miler…and then run eight miles the next day. in. sane.

  3. also, is it just me, or does your thumb look abnormally large in that last shot with the salad? hahaha. and the couscous looks amazing.

  4. Pingback: Creature of Habit « Adventures in Clean Eating

  5. Pingback: St. Patrick’s Day Eats « Adventures in Clean Eating

  6. Pingback: Busy Busy Day! « Adventures in Clean Eating

  7. Pingback: Dinner at Jackson 20 « Adventures in Clean Eating

  8. Pingback: Solid Workouts « Adventures in Clean Eating

  9. Pingback: Pasta Salad with Salmon, Peas, and Herbs « Adventures in Clean Eating

  10. Pingback: A Shweaty Mess « Adventures in Clean Eating

  11. Pingback: Are You an Athlete or Something? « Adventures in Clean Eating

  12. Pingback: Strawberries and Cream Oatmeal « Adventures in Clean Eating

Leave a Reply

