TV Dinner!

I know it’s supposed to be a diet breaker, but I sometimes love eating in front of the television.  Granted, I prefer eating with Pete with everything turned off, but it’s nice to just veg out every now again.  Tonight I made another dish from The Athlete’s Palate cookbook!

Eaten with a side of Real Housewives of New York City.

Penne Arrabbiata

From The Athlete’s Palate, recipe by chef Grace Parisi

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 ounces pancetta or bacon, finely diced
  • 1/2 small onion, minced
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red-pepper flakes
  • 28 ounces diced or petit-cut tomatoes
  • pinch of sugar
  • salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • 12 ounces penne (I used whole wheat)
  • Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, freshly grated
  1. Heat the oil over medium-high heat.  Add the bacon, onion, and garlic.  Cook, stirring occasionally, until the bacon just begins to turn pink and the onion is golden, about 5 minutes.  Add the crushed pepper and cook until the bacon starts to brown.
  2. Add the tomatoes with their juices and sugar.  Season with salt and pepper and bring to a boil.  Reduce the heat to medium-low, and cook, partially covered, until the sauce is thickened, about 30 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, cook the penne in plenty of salted water until it’s al dente, about 7 to 9 minutes.  Drain and return it to the pot.
  4. Add half of the sauce to the pasta and cook, stirring, for 1 minute.  Spoon the penne into bowls, serving the remaining sauce and grated cheese on top.

Makes 4 servings.

Per serving : 508 calories; 20 g protein; 71 g carbohydrates; 15 g fat

This was pretty good!  I have plenty left over for tomorrow’s rush between the pool and Biggest Loser.  I think I should have chopped the bacon a little better, or let it cook longer before I added the tomatoes, or both.  The big chunks were a little soggy.  I prefer crispy bacon.  It made my kitchen smell amazing, though.

Bed time… Petey Pie still isn’t home.  Then again, he gets up two hours later than me every morning and doesn’t have to revert back to childhood “bedtimes” like I do!

4 responses to “TV Dinner!

  1. Arrabiatta = ❤ Looks like a good meal 🙂

    I love Real Housewives of NYC but the BEST Real Housewives spin off is the New Jersey one! Loved that table flip in the season finale!

  2. Thanks so much for your comment! I always eat in front of the TV – I actually think it helps me eat more slowly cause I have something to focus on other than just eating 😉 I can’t wait until I move out of my teeny apartment and can actually have a dining room table though!

  3. Pingback: I SWAM A MILE! « Adventures in Clean Eating

  4. Pingback: Busy Busy Day! « Adventures in Clean Eating

Leave a Reply

