St. Patrick’s Day Eats

HAPPY SAINT PATRICK’S DAY!  It is absolutely beautiful outside today!  This weather makes me so happy!  I wore flip flops on my way to work this morning!  Glorious!

I had some extra time this morning so I ate with an old friend.

Doesn’t that just look like a million bucks?  Don’t Irish people eat oatmeal?  Maybe that’s Scottish… well, I’ll eat potatoes sometime today and cover all my bases.  This was the usual mix of:

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • pinch fine sea salt
  • mashed ‘naner
  • big dash cinnamon
  • splash 1% milk
  • 2 tbsp ground flax
  • dollop almond butter

There is NO better way to start the day.  Seriously.  I love being able to sleep a little later, but if I get my oats in the morning I stay full for hours and hours and have so much more energy!  When I got to the office I had snagged a piece of Irish Soda Bread to have with my morning cup of joe from a St. Patrick’s Day spread someone had put together.  Unfortunately, it tasted like doo-doo.  I threw it away after a couple bites.

Around 9:30 I ate these two goobers.

Then, my lunchtime workout… I mentioned recently that I wanted to switch up my strength training routine.  I was really excited to see a strength routine geared towards runners in this month’s Runner’s World!  Click here for a description of the routine.  I did:

  • Single lunge deadlifts to shoulder press 2 x 15 x 10 lbs
  • Lunge with overhead triceps extension 2 x 15 x 10 lbs
  • Pushup to jacknife 2 sets of 7 and 5 (this one is going to take some work)
  • Ball squats to bicep curl 2 x 15 x 10 lbs
  • Ball pullovers with hip raises 2 x 15 x 5 lbs (1st set) and 7 lbs (2nd set)

This routine was tough!  It’s good to struggle, though.  My old routine had gotten too easy.  You have to change it up to get results!  After I lifted I did a 40 minute tempo run.  I started by running at 5.5 mph on the treadmill for 13 minutes, then increased my speed to 6.0 mph and bumped up the speed .1 mph every minute until I hit 7.0 mph, then decreased the speed slowly until I was at 31 minutes.  I walked at 4.0/3.5 mph for the last nine minutes.  I think the hardest part of tempo runs are decreasing the speed.  You get excited to slow down, but it’s just a tiny bit and you need more of a break.  It’s definitely a challenge.  My run totalled 3.72 miles.

After my workout I dug into a very familiar lunch…

Salad with arugula, raddicchio, endive, parmesan, and white beans, tossed with oil and vinegar plus two Italian bread sticks and an orange.

For my afternoon snack I had half a cup of Greek yogurt with a sliced kiwi, mixed together in my coffee mug.

Of all the fruit that compliments Greek yogurt well, kiwi is not one of them.  I like something sweeter to compliment my Greek yogurt.  Kiwis are great, but a little too tangy themselves.  Bananas and berries are better.

Ok, out to happy hour!  Let’s see how I like St. Patrick’s Day without drinking… at least I’ll feel better than all my coworkers tomorrow morning!

Leave a Reply

