Dinner at Jackson 20

Definitely took a nap on the couch while I waited for Pete to get home this afternoon!  I was so tired- I never nap!  I had a little pick me up so I could stop feeling groggy…

It worked 🙂

For dinner tonight, we headed to Old Town Alexandria, which might be my favorite part of northern Virginia.  We wandered around, admiring the beautiful colonial architecture.  Old Town is like a displaced European city in the middle of the DCMA.  We passed Jackson 20, which I had read wonderful things about, and decided to stop in.

Jackson 20 specializes in modern Southern fare, which to a girl who grew up in the capitol of the Confederacy is irresistible!  The atmosphere is so rustic and homey.  Check out the adorable pig napkin rings!

Plus, any restaurant that quotes Virginia Wolfe on their menu is my match made in heaven.

The bread basket was full of cornbread and rolls (that were reminiscent of cafeteria rolls… foodgasm…) and honey butter.

There were so many delicious choices on the menu.  I had a difficult time deciding!

I started with the Warm Spinach Salad.

Local Spinach, Warm Mustard Vinaigrette, Toasted Almonds, Brûlèed Goat Cheese

Oh, yes, “Brûlèed Goat Cheese”.  This was one of the best salads I’ve had in a long time.  It tasted so fresh and was very satisfying.  The dressing was superb.  The outside of the goat cheese was chewy like a marshmallow but melted apart to give each bite that hearty flavor.  The almonds were whole, not sliced, which was a really nice touch.  If a salad can be comfort food, this was it.

My entree was the Pork Chop.

Apple Stuffed Pork Chop, Roasted Sweet Potato smothered in Molasses, Brown Sugar, Bacon

This was fantastic.  The pork was so tender, stuffed with green apples and caramelized onions, on a bed of collard greens sauteed with onions and ham hock.  I may not be crazy about molasses in oatmeal, but on sweet potatoes it is superb!  This meal was southern cuisine at its finest.  I can’t wait to eat my leftovers tomorrow!

And of course, I couldn’t pass up dessert…

Butternut Squash Bread Pudding. With praline ice cream.  How could I pass that up?!  This was absolutely delicious and the perfect dessert to say goodbye to winter with.  My only complaint is that there wasn’t quite enough ice cream.  When I have a dessert like this, I like to take a small bite of ice cream with each bite of the cake/brownie/pudding, and there wasn’t enough ice cream to be consistent with this.  It was still a fabulous dessert, though!

I was so pleased with our dinner tonight.  We will definitely be back to sample the Spring/Summer menu soon!

Ok, bed.  I’m learning to play golf tomorrow!

One response to “Dinner at Jackson 20

  1. YOU WENT TO JACKSON 20!!! so jealous.

Leave a Reply

