Here Comes the Sun…

This morning started with a slightly more tropical oats combination…

This bowl contained:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • Pinch sea salt
  • Mashed banana
  • Splash 1% milk
  • 1 tsp molasses
  • Dash cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp ground flax
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened coconut
  • 2 chopped dried figs

This was tasty, although the molasses was slightly overpowering.  Molasses has a ton of iron in it, and is a great addition to anyone’s diet (in moderation, though, so it is caloric).  Next time I might just go with half a teaspoon.

Today’s morning snack was one ounce of almonds and some dried figs.

I didn’t work out at lunch today since Fridays are my rest days, yet since my male coworkers had doctors appointments (which were conveniently the same time as the WVU basketball game today…) I was one my own.  I took a walk to the National Mall and soaked in the sun and a good book over my lunch break.

Please ignore my unflattering khakis...

Tri-color salad with arugula, fennel, and radicchio with white beans and tossed in oil and vinegar with Italian bread sticks and a kiwi.

In case you weren’t already jealous of today’s lunch, my view…

Yep, it was nice.  I also took a walk here with a coworker later in the afternoon because I couldn’t stand being cooped up in the office on a day like today!

My afternoon snack was a yummy but very messy orange.

And a part-skim mozzarella cheese stick.

Well, the sun is wonderful, but it’s made me sleepy!  I’m gonna zone out in front of the tube.  Back tonight!

Leave a Reply

