Pasta Salad with Salmon, Peas, and Herbs

Hey guys, sorry for the lackluster post yesterday.  I tend to procrastinate on all of my chores until Sunday, and then get overwhelmed and lose track of time doing them.  You understand, right?  Good.  I promise interesting posts during my free time the coming week.

This morning began with a fig bran muffin and half a cup of 2% plain Greek yogurt with half a sliced banana.

I really should have used strawberries instead of bananas in my yogurt this morning!  They are finally in season after all and were thus very cheap at Trader Joe’s yesterday!  I just forgot about them since I haven’t had any in months.

I also had an unpictured Caffe Misto with skim milk from Starbucks once I got off the train this morning.  After a couple hours I had a pre-workout snack of two chocolate, fig, and almond bites.

I’ll definitely be sad when these guys are gone.  They remind me of Larabars, but gooey-er 😀

My workout with Abu today was pretty hard.  I was still fatigued from my run yesterday.  Plus, I think I bruised my foot at some point.  I’ve been walking around my cube barefoot all day, which is further proof of how uber-professional I am.  We began with some core work and push ups, then moved on the kettlebells!  I’ve done some kettlebell exercises while circuit training before, but this was the first time most of my workout comprised of them. I used a 15 lb weight for this workout (except for the halos… when I thought I was going to punch myself in the face).  Workout:

  • 10 x halos in each direction
  • 10 x round the worlds in each direction (high and low)
  • 10 x snatches on each arm
  • 15 x swings with both arms
  • 10 x single arm swings with each arm
  • 15 x squats into shoulder press

We did this twice, with some core work in between.  If you’re interested, click here for some information on the exercises.  It was a great workout, and if you’re interested in incorporating more functional training into your routine, I highly recommend it.  Kettlebell training actually began in the 1800s in the Navy using anchors, so it’s been time-tested and approved!  Abu recommended I do some kettlebell swings with a light weight as a warm up in place of my usual five minutes on the elliptical.  It’s a great way to get your muscles engaged and heart rate up!

After my sweaty workout (the gym was damn hot today!), I dug into Pasta Salad with Salmon, Peas, and Herbs.

From So Easy by Ellie Krieger

Makes 4 servings.

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup plain Greek-style nonfat yogurt
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 3 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 2 teaspoons finely grated lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon minced fresh dill, or 2 teaspoons dried
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 (14-ounce) can wild red salmon, drained, skinned and boned, and cut into chunks
  • 1 10-ounce package frozen peas, defrosted
  • 1/2 pound bowtie or corkscrew pasta, cooked according to package directions and cooled
  • 2 scallions (white and green parts), minced (about 1/4 cup)
  • 8 cups chopped red leaf lettuce
  1. Combine the yogurt, lemon juice, mayonnaise, lemon zest, dill, salt, and pepper in a bowl and whisk to incorporate.
  2. Add the salmon, peas, pasta, and scallions and toss to incorporate.
  3. To serve, mound 2 cups of the lettuce onto each plate and scoop about 1 3/4 cups of the pasta salad on top.

This was tasty!  I’m hoping all of the leftovers stay good for the rest of the week (and not just two days like Ellie says…).  After I pack tomorrow’s lunch I’m putting the leftovers in two separate serving plastic baggies in the freezer and will thaw them out when I plan on eating them.  Hopefully they will withstand freezing!

For my afternoon snack, I had a banana and a part-skim mozzarella cheese stick.

Ok, time to make dinner!  Back later tonight!

4 responses to “Pasta Salad with Salmon, Peas, and Herbs

  1. I have been in the mood for good muffins lately…I think that this fig bran guy is going to be a winner! And I was on the fence about that pasta salad but after seeing that pic, I might have to make it for lunch today!!

  2. Pingback: A Shweaty Mess « Adventures in Clean Eating

  3. Pingback: Are You an Athlete or Something? « Adventures in Clean Eating

  4. Pingback: Cashew FROSTING?! « Adventures in Clean Eating

Leave a Reply

