Are You an Athlete or Something?

Humpday began with this bowl of goodness…

This bowl contained:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • Pinch salt
  • Mashed banana
  • 2 tbsp ground flax
  • Dash cinnamon
  • Splash 1% milk
  • 1 tbsp chocolate chips
  • ~tbsp almond butter

The chocolate chips here really melted into the bowl.  So. Freakin. Good.

I was gymming it later than usual this morning, so my morning snacks were plentiful and spread out (even though my oatmeal held me over for more  than four hours!).  I had a ‘naner.

And two chocolate, fig, and almond bites.

Plus an un-pictured “Funfetti” sugar cookie that one of my coworkers made.  It was just so adorable, I couldn’t resist!

My workout today was a trial kettlebell class!  While most classes at my gym (Golds Gym Capitol Hill, fyi) are free, these functional classes are going to cost a small fee, however the first class is still free!  My coworker and I knew we had to hit that up!  The class was a blast.  It lasted a little over 30 minutes.  We did a few circuits with halos, round the worlds, swings, and snatches, along with core work, knee-ups, and jumping jacks mixed in.  It was tough, and I think I may sign up for more!  The highlight of my day was when one of the trainers commented on my good form and said “are you an athlete or something?”.  It struck me that before now I never would have said I was an athlete… although that’s what I’ve become.  I don’t just workout, I train for a sport.  It made me really proud and I smiled and said I was a runner!

I dug into my late lunch when I got back to the office.

I was a little hesitant about this salad today.  The recipe said it wouldn’t last more than two days in the fridge, but I wanted it to last all week.  So, on Monday night I took the two remained servings that I hadn’t eaten or packed, divided them into two separate plastic bags, and put them in the freezer.  Last night I took one of them out and put it in the fridge.  I wasn’t sure how a creamy pasta salad would freeze and thaw, but I’m not one to waste food or eat sour mayonnaise, so I gave it a whirl.  Lucky for me, it turned out really nicely!  You would never guess that this had once been frozen!  Keep this in mind next time you cook in bulk!

I also had an ounce of walnuts before heading out for the day.

In other news, this is happening along my usual running trail… super.

Shout out to my fellow DC foodies! The nominees for this year’s Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington (RAMMY) awards have been announced! Check them out here!  I was pretty excited to see two of my favorites, Liberty Tavern and EatBar, on the list, plus several others that I’m dying to check out!

One response to “Are You an Athlete or Something?

  1. Being a former DCer, I’d have to say I’m most excited about these guys making the list: Zaytinya, Tabard Inn, and Founding Farmers (even though they have the worst service of all time)

    I’ve wanted to check out Proof but never got a chance. Maybe next time I’m in town!

Leave a Reply

